Writer

Guest Column

287 posts

Smells like team spirit

 - 

Emily Dunn Contributing Writer emdunn@smu.edu So I don’t know about you, but standing at a football game in a sundress and cowboy boots in 107 degree heat while a Jimmy Buffet stunt double glares at the scoreboard doesn’t sound like a whole lot of fun. It actu... More »

The struggles of writing opinion

 - 

Michelle Hammond Associate A&E Editor mhammondtova@smu.edu I think opinion pieces are hard to write because there will always be someone who disagrees with what you have to say no matter how serious or silly the topic might be. Then again, I suppose that’s the... More »

Soccer can tackle Qatar’s labor problem

 - 

Jared Tidenberg Contributing Writer jtidenberg@smu.edu Recent news reports have revealed a plethora of issues regarding abuse of migrant workers in Qatar, ranging from more than 60 hour workweeks, dangerous working conditions and poor, unsanitary living condit... More »

Beyond the Shakespearean love

 - 

Caroline Dillard Contributing Writer cdillard@smu.edu  In the past couple weeks, the story of a young Saudi woman and Yemeni man who tried to escape the confines of traditional culture and parental authority for love captured the world. Al-Niran al-Niran, a 22... More »

Making a mess in the Middle East

 - 

Jennifer King Contributing Writer jenniferk@smu.edu A decade after the invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan, not only has the United States lost much of its credibility, but hardly anyone in the Middle East or international community is deeply concerned by U.S. t... More »

A look inside the life of a Christian Copt

 - 

Ashley Schumacher Contributing Writer acschumacher@smu.edu   Who are you? What do you believe in? And what do you stand for? In America we are never faced with such inquiries nor do we have to worry about them. However in countries throughout the Middle East o... More »

Bookmark?Remove?

Wife, grandson of Kennedy’s doctor reflect on legacy

 - 

Courtney Madden Contributing Writer courtneym@smu.edu On Nov. 22, 1963 Dr. Charles James Carrico told his wife, Sue, goodbye for what seemed like a normal day at work, but when he returned home after a 12-hour shift at Parkland Hospital, he had memories that w... More »

Kennedy’s assassination not just history

 - 

Michael Graves Contributing Writer mwgraves@smu.edu Yesterday I was reading a story on Associated Press that claimed the assassination of John F. Kennedy is just a page in a history book for millennials. This claim struck me, and I began to wonder how other ge... More »

Long live the Prince

 - 

Preston Hutcherson Contributing Writer phutcherson@smu.edu Jon Heyman of CBS Sports was the first to report late Wednesday that the Texas Rangers had agreed to trade second baseman Ian Kinsler to the Detroit Tigers in exchange for first baseman Prince Fielder ... More »