Mustangs fall to Tulsa in AAC Tournament semifinal

The SMU men’s soccer team fell to Tulsa in penalty kicks in the semifinals of the American Athletic Conference Tournament in Tampa, Florida on Nov. 13.

Idi Camara (42nd) and Jared Rice (88th) each scored goals for the Mustangs. Rice’s goal sent the game into overtime, where neither team was able to find the net.

In the penalty kick session, Camara, Mauro Cichero, and Rice each scored, but Tulsa came away with a 4-3 advantage. The Golden Hurricane advanced to the final, which took place on Nov. 15, where the team defeated UConn by the same penalty kick margin to win the AAC Tournament title.

Three Mustangs were named AAC Players of the Year at their positions, and the men’s soccer staff earned Coaching Staff of the Year honors prior to the semifinal game.

Cichero was named Offensive Player of the Year, leading the team in points (27), shots (62), and goals (10). Senior John Lujano earned Midfielder of the Year, starting all matches this season and contributing three assists, five shots, and one goal.

Sophomore Michael Nelson repeated as Goalkeeper of the Year, finishing first in the AAC in saves (69), second in shutouts (7) and save percentage (.784), and third in goals-against-average (1.00) and saves-per-game (3.83).

Cichero, Lujano, and Nelson were all selected as first-team all conference players. Jordan Cano was awarded second-team honors and Christian Boorom, Emil Cuello, and Caleb Smith were selected for the all-rookie team.

The No. 7 Mustangs were selected to the NCAA tournament (click here for full bracket) and will host Utah Valley in the first round on Nov. 19 at 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *